Why do I need alcohol training?
The state of Utah requires workers to complete an alcohol training and education seminar to be able to serve alcohol. Alcohol certification provides you protection in the event of an alcohol-involved incident and will make you more desirable for employment by companies that require this training.
Is this training completely online?
Yes, our registration, course and exam are all 100% online. You can even download your certificate immediately after you pass!
Is this training valid in the state of Utah?
Yes, we are a Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) approved provider of the on-premise and off-premise alcohol training course. Our courses provide you the certificate and card you need to start working today!
What is the difference between on-premise and off-premise alcohol training?
On-premise alcohol server training is mandatory for sellers and servers of alcohol in on-premise establishments. Workers who need this type of training are managers, supervisors, servers and sellers of alcohol for consumption on site. Examples of these types of on-premise establishments are bars, night-clubs and restaurants.
Off-premise alcohol training is mandatory for servers/retailers to complete for off-premise consumption of beer. Examples of sellers/servers who need this type of training would be grocery stores, festival vendors, or beer selling establishments such as convenient stores.
Who is required to have this alcohol certification?
Utah law states that an individual shall have a valid record that the individual completed an alcohol training and education seminar within 30 days of being employed, hired or engaging in activity related to alcohol serving. These individuals include ones who:
- Manage operations at the premises of a licensee engaged in the retail sale of an alcoholic product for consumption on the premises of the licensee;
- Supervise the serving of an alcoholic product to a customer for consumption on the premises of a licensee;
- Serve an alcoholic product to a customer for consumption on the premises of a licensee;
- Directly supervises the sale of beer to a customer for consumption off the premises of an off-premise beer retailer; or
- Sell beer to a customer for consumption off the premises of an off-premise beer retailer.
How long do I have to take the training?
We provide you ample time to complete your online course but the state of Utah does require you complete your training within 30 days of employment.
Is there a final exam?
Yes there is a final exam but you have unlimited chances to pass with a 70% or more.
What is the E.A.S.Y law?
The E.A.S.Y. (Eliminate Alcohol Sales to Youth) Law limits youth access to alcohol in grocery and convenience stores, authorizes law enforcement to conduct random alcohol sales compliance checks, requires mandatory training for each store employee that sells beer or directly supervises the sale of beer and funds a statewide media and education campaign to alert youth, parents, and communities of the dangers of alcohol to the developing teen.
This law mandates off-premise alcohol training for all grocery and convenience store employees who sell or directly supervise the sale of beer.
What kind of card do I get?
There are many names for the completion you receive from a Utah alcohol certification program, such as a smart card, etips or sips and tips card. Each education provider may have a different name for their course or cards, but all are valid if they are approved by the state of Utah DSAMH.
When you complete our course you will receive a valid American Safety Council Utah Alcohol Training and Education Seminar completion card. We also refer to this program as American Safety Council O-P.A.S.S (On/Off Premise Alcohol Serving Safety).
How long is the certificate/server card valid?
Your on-premise Utah alcohol certification is valid for 3 years from the date of course completion. You need to complete the course every 3 years to maintain your certification.
Your off-premise Utah alcohol certification is valid for 5 years from the date of course completion. You need to complete the course every 5 years to maintain your certification.
I lost my certificate, how do I get a new one?
You can login to your account at any time and reprint your certificate and card. You can always contact customer service or use the forgot your password option if you cannot remember your login.
Who Needs Alcohol Training?
Every individual in the state of Utah who sells or provides alcoholic beverages for consumption on premise in Utah must complete Alcohol Server Training. Sellers and servers of beer in off-premise establishments need to complete the off-premise training. All alcohol training must be completed within 30 days of employment. » More info